LAID BACK by Gregg Allman

John Stephen Walsh
1 min readJun 14, 2017

--

Gregg Allman’s death put me in one of those spots we’re all put in: I own several of his albums, so I got to say “I loved his work,” but he was a satellite, not a planet, in my personal solar system. I haven’t thought of him in forever. Several of his songs are on my Current Favorites MP3 player list. I own about a dozen Gregg Allman, Duane Allman and Allman Brothers records on vinyl, a few on CD.

Laid Back is my favorite of his albums, a somewhat atypical collection because it is, indeed, more laid back than the Allman Brothers albums he is most famous for. This is a product of its time, the 70’s singer/songwriter era when sullen dudes cut albums of slow-paced songs about being midnight riders and lonesome single guys. It’s great.

Not recommended if you don’t like music.

--

--

John Stephen Walsh

I write horror, science fiction and weird. Worked in warehouses, schools and social services. My books are on Amazon. https://johnstephenwalsh.wordpress.com/